Home

Machine Learning @ Cornell

Hom	Peopl	Courses	Administrative information	MLDG
е	e .			

Related links at Cornell

- Artificial Intelligence
- Cognitive Science
- Natural Language Processing
- Robotics
- Statistical Science Department
- Biological Statistics and Computational Biology Department
- Data Science Club
- The new ML webpage

Selected highlights

- ICML 2016: Kilian Weinberger is co-program chair
- ECML-PKDD 2015: Test of time award to Jon Kleinberg and coauthors
- EMNLP 2015: Yoav Artzi and coauthors win best paper award
- KDD 2015: best student paper award to Wenlei Xie, David Bindel, Alan Demers, and Johannes Gehrke for "Edge-Weighted Personalized PageRank: Breaking A Decade-Old Performance Barrier"
- ICML 2015: Jon Kleinberg keynote speaker
- KDD 2015 Test of Time award to Thorsten Joachims for "Optimizing Search Engines Using Clickthrough Data"
- EC 2015 best paper award to Vasilis Syrgkanis, Eva Tardos and coauthor Denis Nekipelov for "Econometrics for Learning Algorithms"
- 2015: Kilian Weinberger gives keynote presentation at BeNeLearn 2015 conference
- 2015: Thorsten Joachims gives keynote at the inaugural Amazon Machine Learning conference
- 2015: Chenhao Tan wins the Facebook Fellowship in HCl and Social Computing
- 2015: Ashutosh Saxena named one of Smithsonian Magazine's "eight innovators to watch"
- 2015 Microsoft Research Graduate Women's Scholarship to Xanda Schofield (does not preclude eligibility for the Microsoft Ph.D. Fellowship, which is open only to third- and fourth-year Ph.D. students)
- WSDM 2015: Karthik Raman receives an Outstanding Reviewer Award, Thorsten Joachims gives keynote
- WACV 2015: Serge Belongie and colleagues win best paper award in vision and learning
- 2014: Thorsten Joachims named an ACM Fellow.
- NIPS 2014 best paper award to Anshumali Shrivastava and Ping Li
- 2014: Thorsten Joachims named a AAAI Fellow
- 2014: Jason Yosinski's co-authored paper "Deep Neural Networks are Easily Fooled" receives press coverage in the Atlantic, Wired, and New Scientist, among other venues, and reached #1 on Hacker News
- KDD 2014 inaugural Test of Time Award (one of three) goes to David Kempe (PhD '03), Jon Kleinberg and Eva Tardos for "Maximizing the Spread of Influence through a Social Network"
- EC 2014: Best paper award to Peter Frazier, David Kempe (PhD '03), Jon Kleinberg and Robert Kleinberg for "Incentivizing Exploration"
- 2014: Chenhao Tan, Lillian Lee, and Bo Pang's work on the effect of wording on message propagation (like retweets) covered in the Upshot section of the New York Times
- 2014: Google PhD Fellowship to Hema Koppula
- ISMIR 2014: Best student paper award given to Joshua Moore, together with Thorsten Joachims and Douglas Turnbull, for the paper "Taste Space versus the World".
- SIGIR 2013: Best student paper award given to Karthik Raman and MSR colleagues Paul Bennett and Kevyn Collins-Thompson
- KDD 2013: Innovations Award (the highest award for technical excellence, a lifetime honor granted by SIGKDD) to Jon Kleinberg
- 2013: Lillian Lee named a AAAI fellow
- RSS (Robotics: Science and Systems) 2013 best student paper award to Hema Koppula and Ashutosh Saxena. The work was also covered in the LA Times, Wired, CNet, NCS NEws, CBS News, and National Geographic
- 2013 Google PhD Fellowship in Search and Information Retrieval to Karthik Raman
- 2013: NSF CAREER award to Ashutosh Saxena
- 2012: Ashutosh Saxena named a Microsoft Research Faculty Fellow
- 2012: NSF CAREER award to Tanzeem Choudhury
- 2012: NSF CAREER award to Peter Frazier
- 2011: Sloan Research Fellowship to Ashutosh Saxena
- 2011: Yahoo! Key Scientific Challenges award to Karthik Raman
- WSDM 2011: best paper award nomination to Christina Brandt (Cornell CS B.S. '10, MEng '11, CRA award honorable mention), Thorsten Joachims, Yisong Yue (Cornell PhD '10), and Jacob Bank (Cornell CS A.B. '11, CRA award honorable mention)
- 2010: AFOSR Young Investigator award to Peter Frazier
- ICMLA 2010: Best paper award to Theodoros Damoulas, Carla Gomes and colleagues
- 2010: Yahoo! Key Scientific Challenges award to Cristian Danescu-Niculescu-Mizil
- ECML 2009: Best Paper Award to Thorsten Joachims and Chun-Nam Yu
- Academic year 2008-2009:
 - O Best Student Paper runner-up at KDD: Lars Backstrom, Jon Kleinberg, and Ravi Kumar
 - Best 10-year paper award at ICML 2009 to Thorsten Joachims
 - Nomination for best paper award at WWW to Dave Crandall, Lars Backstrom, Dan Huttenlocher, and Jon Kleinberg
 - Thorsten Joachims wins a Fraunhofer-Bessel Research Award from the Humboldt foundation; shakes hands with the president of Germany.
 - O Jure Leskovec joins the department as a postdoc, deferring a tenure-track position at Stanford
- 2008: Bobby Kleinberg named Microsoft New Faculty Fellow
- COLT 2008: best student paper award to Robert D. Kleinberg, Alexandru Niculescu-Mizil and Yogeshwer (Yogi) Sharma
- · 2008: Microsoft Research Fellowship to Yisong Yue
- 2008: Yahoo! Key Technical Challenges grant to Yisong Yue

- ECML 2007: Best Student Paper Award to Daria Sorokina, Rich Caruana, and Mirek Riedewald
- KDD 2006: Best Research Paper Award to Thorsten Joachims
- 2006: Microsoft Research Fellowship to Filip Radlinski
- ICML 2005:
 - o Best Paper Award to Thorsten Joachims

 - Distinguished Student Paper Award (of four) to Thomas Finley and Thorsten Joachims
 Distinguished Student Paper Award (of four) to Alexandru Niculescu-Mizil and Rich Caruana
- KDD 2005:
 - 10% of accepted papers have Cornell (co-)authors
- Best Student Paper Award to Filip Radlinski and Thorsten Joachims
 Best Research Paper Award co-won by Jon Kleinberg (with Jure Leskovec and Christos Faloutsos)
 HLT-NAACL 2004: Best Paper Award to Regina Barzilay and Lillian Lee
 KDD 2003: Best Research Paper Award to David Kempe, Jon Kleinberg, and Eva Tardos