
Penalty Interpretation for Off-Ice Officials
In general:

● when a penalty is shown on the clock, the player serving the penalty is eligible to return 
immediately when the penalty ends (but see #1 below).
○ A penalty that is to be shown on the clock is generally referred to in the rule book as a 

penalty to be served without substitution.
○ A penalty on the clock ends:

■ when its time expires (in this case, it automatically disappears from the clock)
■ when a team is playing shorthanded and the opposing team scores a goal, the penalty on 

the shorthanded team that caused it to be shorthanded ends (but see #3 below) (in this 
case, the penalty timekeeper must manually remove the penalty from the clock).

■ trivially, when the game ends.
● when a penalty is not on the clock, the player serving the penalty may only return at a stoppage 

in play (but see #2 below).
○ A penalty that is not on the clock is generally referred to in the rule book as a penalty to be 

served with substitution.
● all coincidental penalties are served with substitution (but see #4 and #5 below).

(1) When a penalty on the clock ends, what are the circumstances under which the player should not 
be allowed to return to the ice?

● The player received penalties in addition to the penalty shown on the clock (e.g., misconduct, 
coincidental minor).

● When a team has three players serving penalties without substitution at the same time.
○ If after the first penalty ends, play continues uninterrupted without a stoppage and 

consequently the second penalty ends, the first player (who had not been allowed to return 
to the ice when his penalty ended) should then be allowed to return to the ice. Similarly, if 
the third penalty ends before a stoppage, the second player would be allowed to return. The 
third player would only be allowed to return at a stoppage in play.

○ If, in the above example, the first and second, or second and third, penalties end at the 
same time, according to the rule book the team captain shall designate which player should 
return first. In practice, however, since this is an exceedingly rare situation, nobody 
remembers to ask for or make the designation, the players don't realize that they're not 
eligible to return, and this is when mistakes happen.

● A player may not leave the players’ bench or penalty bench at any time during an altercation.

(2)When a player is serving a penalty that is not on the clock, when should that player be allowed to 
return to the ice?

● The player will only be allowed to return to the ice at a stoppage in play.
● The player must serve all of the penalties which were called on him.
● If any of the penalties called on the player are to be served without substitution, it is not 

possible to determine at the time the penalties are called the time at which the player will be 
eligible to return to the ice.
○ It will only be possible to determine the player's release time when the penalties he is 

serving without substitution end.
○ A substitute player may sit in the penalty box and return to the ice when the penalties 
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without substitution (i.e., those on the clock) end. However, a team is not required to 
provide a substitute player, and it is not our job to remind them to do so, or require that one 
be provided. If a team does not provide a substitute player, and the penalties being served 
without substitution end, they are not entitled to an additional player on the ice until the 
next stoppage in play; specifically, the original penalized player may not leave the penalty 
box, as he still has additional penalty time to serve. (I'm not sure what would happen in the 
event of a long uninterrupted stretch of play during which all of the player's penalties 
expired. I don't think it's covered anywhere in the rule book, it probably never has come up, 
and let's hope it doesn't.)

(3) When does a penalty that caused a team to be shorthanded not end when the opposing team 
scores a goal?

● When the penalty that caused the team to be shorthanded is a major penalty.
● When a player receives a major penalty and a minor penalty at the same time, the major 

penalty shall be served first by the penalized player.
● If a short-handed team is scored upon while serving a major and a non-coincidental minor 

penalty (two different players), the minor penalty shall terminate.
● When the goal is scored as a result of a penalty shot.

(4) When are coincidental penalties served without substitution?
● When both of the following conditions are in effect:

○ No penalties on the clock at the time the coincidental penalties are called.
○ One minor penalty to each team.

● In all other situations, coincidental penalties are served with substitution.

(5) How do you determine which penalties are coincidental?
● Count the total number of major penalties given to each team (not the number of players, just 

the total number of penalties). If one team receives more majors than the other, the majors in 
excess of the other team's are served without substitution; all the matching majors are 
coincidental.

● Count the total number of minor penalties given to each team (not the number of players, just 
the total number of penalties). If one team receives more minors than the other, the minors in 
excess of the other team's are served without substitution; all the matching minors are 
coincidental.
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